Affirmation: I NOTICE THE LIGHT IN EVERYONE

My dear friends,

I just wrote a daily affirmation for myself. Feel free to use it in your daily practice if it appeals to you!
Love & Light to all … Namasté … Lisa

Affirmation: I NOTICE THE LIGHT IN EVERYONE

How many of us are quick to criticize or find fault with ourselves or with others? How many of us notice weakness before we notice strength? Perhaps, you are already attuned to the innate goodness in some people… How about making it a habit to see the light that shines within our enemies, as well as within people we admire or like?
We all need to feel we matter and are appreciated (that is human nature as well as being innate in certain species of animal) and when we show our appreciation of and to others, it is often reciprocated. This is a good daily practice because we tend to get caught up in our expectations for ourselves and others, noticing and pointing out our own or others’ failings or weaknesses instead of focusing on the positive qualities or strengths. Everyone does something well and has some positive qualities. Approval and positive feedback motivate people to repeat those positive behaviors, much more than disapproval and negative feedback deter negative behavior. If we think about how good it feels to be complimented, maybe we can set a daily goal of giving a compliment to each person we encounter. Even people who we see as negative… surely you can find one positive thing in even the most frustrating of people. God certainly would! Remember we were all created by God, and in God’s image. Surely that counts for something!

Namasté

c. Lisa Pearlman 5/8/12

20120730-022015.jpg

About Lisa Pearlman

I am a Writer - iphoneographer - Social Media Artist - Content Creator/Curator (Freelancer) I have a B.A. in Psychology and Sociology from UMASS-Amherst. My past employment was primarily in human services, having worked as a counselor/case manager in both a residential mental health setting as well as in correctional facilities. My passions include Love, Peace, Writing, Reading, iphoneography, Animal Rights, Human Rights, Spirituality, Meditation, Music, HipHop, Internet Radio & blogging. I believe LOVE has the power to heal all suffering. I am forever a work in progress.
This entry was posted in interpersonal relationships, life, positivity, Unconditional Love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Affirmation: I NOTICE THE LIGHT IN EVERYONE

  1. love1salluneed says:

    You know, I remember my grandmother used to say, if you cannot say something good about someone, stay quiet. Say nothing. This still holds so true. Many people do badmouth others weithout looking for the inner sparkle that is present in everyone.

    I fervently believe that when each of us shows love, compassion and gratitude, without any expectation, we are opening our hearts and spirit to blessings in abundance. Everyone must know how it ‘feels’ to have someone say something unpleasant, it robs people of joy and it is a form of abuse. Even the smallest putdown can have the mightiest impact on sensitive souls.

    Thanks for sharing your wisdom :0)

    Namste’

    • Thanks for sharing your sincere thoughts along with the words of your grandmother. Some of those old clichés are timeless aren’t they? I remember hearing my nana & my mom both saying the same thing “If you don’t have something nice to say, don’t say anything at all.” It was true then, & it’s true now. The old childhood saying about “Sticks & Stones” however was misleading, because words certainly can & do hurt. We are seeing nowadays just how much words can hurt in light of recent bullying incidences & resulting suicides. We can all learn from His Holiness the Dalai Lama how the only religion we need to live by is Kindness (to ourselves & others)

  2. Binod Thapa says:

    Greetings!!! N Namaste!!! To you Lisa once again.In my opinion every people they are trying to seek the other’s faults or errors.Everywhere there are hurdles and obstacles to cross the challenge for blissfull opportunities.No one can get success to improve the first fault only then he/she will step forward to second phase of success.That’s why it will be better to respond anybody’s errors in positive way and giving a chance for second attempt for successful.Human nature is different so they have a tendecy to pull a leg of higher rank people showing their lackness and mistakes.I think it’s not good we should get equal responsibililities and rights due to education and qualification.People have lack of knowledge about it.They have jeolous,hatred,anger,revenge,murder etc. so how they can feel a humanity from inner soul.And how they feel the animal right even they have some discrepancies between humans to humans.To see these dirty images I feel sad and like to shut my eyes forever.Thanks and Regards!!!!Lisa!!!

    • Beautiful words you express here Binod. I agree and wish more people felt like you do. It pains me greatly to know of, hear or see the suffering of animals and people also. I feel so helpless and feel like I am overwhelmed with their pain inside me, as if it’s happening to me. I am a highly sensitive person, heightened sense of empathy, both a gift and a curse. Thank you for reading my blog 🙂 Namasté

Leave a Reply

